Erodov.com Forums | India's Top Technology forum.

navigation start navigation end
Go Back   Erodov.com Forums | India's Top Technology forum. > Hardware Zone > Cooling and Overclocking
Register Forgot Password?

Old 11-02-10   #1
teh pretendeR!
[E]onian
I havent set my status yet.

Are These Temps Ok? (Core I7)

Hello folks, before I started doing some light OC, I wanted to make sure that my system was stable at stock settings, without any after market cooling devices (no thermal compounds either).

I ran Mprime (the linux port of Prime95) for an hour without any issues. The temperatures were as follows:

Idle: CPU: 25-26
IOH: 64

Load: CPU: 84
IOH: 77

I know that IOH temps are high at idle (known issue among MSI Pro-E boards), but am getting an Antec Spot Cool fan to fix that.

However what I want to know is that at full load, isn't the CPU temp too high ? My system didn't crash (I tested for one hour only), but since I am new to this subject, please let me know what you think.

Also, is there a possibility of slightly OCing the system, say up to 3 GHz, with the stock cooler, or should I start saving for a good CPU cooler for these mild OCs ?
alcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-10   #2
teh spamm[E]R!
[E]onian

Rig Gallery

stonedsurd is extremely Renowned
stonedsurd is extremely Renownedstonedsurd is extremely Renownedstonedsurd is extremely Renowned
Re: Are These Temps Ok? (Core I7)

Given the high TDP of Bloomfield chips, I would assume that those temps on the stock cooler are not too high but most people don't OC i7s on the stock cooling hardware as it is barely sufficient.
stonedsurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-10   #3
teh pretendeR!
[E]onian

alcy is Notable