Erodov.com Forums | India's Top Technology forum.

navigation
  • Home
  • Forums
  • Articles
  • News
  • Gaming
  • Bazaar
  • Community
  • What's New
  • My Erodov
  • Help
navigation
Go Back   Erodov.com Forums | India's Top Technology forum. > Launchpad > News
Register Forgot Password?
View Poll Results: Is Apple iOS Hindi transliteration working for you with a older iOS release?
No, not working 1 14.29%
Yes working with iOS 5 Beta (1, 2, 3, 4) 2 28.57%
Yes working with iOS 4.x 0 0%
Yes working with iOS 3.x 0 0%
I couldn't care less! 5 71.43%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Post New News  Reply

Article Tools Search this Article

Old
Apple's IOS Doing Hindi Transliteration
by KiD0M4N 10-08-11

Apple's iOS doing Hindi Transliteration

Apple targeting Indian populace with its next release?

It seems that Apple has taken a sudden interest in sophisticated Hindi support in its latest iOS release. I am a registered Apple developer. When I loaded up the latest Apple iOS 5 Beta 5 release, I noticed that 'Hindi' was already added as one of my keyboards in iOS.

Upon exploring it further, it looks like Apple might be building in transliteration into the keyboard as well. Type in English and the words get transliterated to Hindi on the fly. Currently, this only works if you first type a word in English, then switch the keyboard to Hindi and invoke press backspace after the concerned word (like in the image above.)

Please let us know if you see any luck with the previous beta releases or on other older versions of iOS. While we realize that the target audience of a possible world synced iPhone 5 launch is not going to be very interested in this particular feature, it will be that ONE feature which you will show of to your friends and colleagues to make them very very zealous. Full sized images below:

Last edited by KiD0M4N; 10-08-11 at 07:16 AM.
Views 2478 Comments 10
Total Comments 10

Comments

Old 10-08-11
Lead Lead
Administrator